Share This Post
Driving under the influence of alcohol can result in serious charges. Usually these type of cases can be charged as misdemeanors or a felony. If while driving under the influence of alcohol there is an accident and someone ends up getting seriously injured then the case is more serious. You will be charged with a felony. The consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol can result in getting your license suspended, fees and even have immigration problems. When someone is arrested with DUI charges you have ten days to go to court and your case will consist of two separate procedures which would be a DMV case and a criminal case, depending of the incident.
- DMV Case: The DMV case will involve analyzing whether you’re guilty of committing a serious driving offense and how that will affect your driving privileges. However, you can protect your license by requesting a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest but if you don’t do so then your license will be suspended automatically 30 days after your arrest date.
- Criminal Case: This case comes after the DMV hearing and depending on your case you may face jail time, heavy fines, rehabilitation, driver education school, community service, impoundment of your vehicle and even getting an installation of an ignition device on your car.
Driving Without a License
Those who operate a vehicle in California are required to have a valid driver’s license. If you’re caught driving without a valid license it can result in the filing of a misdemeanor or an infraction. Having a misdemeanor charge against you can lead to jail time and if convicted it will become part of your criminal record. If you’re given a citation for driving without a license you must appear on court on the date given to you. If you failed to do so then expect a bench warrant issued for your arrest. However, if you do have a valid license but just didn’t have it on you when you were pulled over then you will instead be charged with an infraction. You will have to to prove to the court that your license is valid and once you do that then the charges will be dismissed.
Driving With a Suspended License
Those who drive in California with a suspended or revoked license will be charged with a misdemeanor which can potentially lead to jail time or heavy fines. If you’re driving with a suspended license and you’re stopped you can be arrested on the spot and your car can get impounded. If you’re a first time offender in Los Angeles you may not face jail time but you will be penalized. Two points will go to your DMV record, your license will be suspended longer and you will have a criminal record.
Simple assault involves minor injuries or a threat of violence which can be charged as a misdemeanor. An assault is considering pushing someone, slapping, creating physical harm and a threat is when someone puts another in fear for example threatening to punch them. Simple assault can be punished with six to one year in jail depending on the case. There is also the option of performing community service, attending criminal educational programs or being on house arrest instead of serving time in jail.
Assault with Deadly Weapon
Assault with a deadly weapon is a serious form of criminal offense which carries severe penalties depending on the firearm used. You can be charged with a felony and if convicted can lead to serious consequences such as heavy fines and a sentence of one to 30 years in jail depending on the level of the offense. If convicted the person can face other consequences such as losing the right of bare arms and it may be challenging finding employment in the future.
Domestic violence is when someone commits an act of abuse against someone whom they have a domestic relationship with. But the crime is also acknowledge against a roommate, spouse, people who are dating, people who used to date and family members. Domestic violence cases can result in a misdemeanor which could be penalized with heavy fines and up to a year in jail. Someone with a domestic violence case can lose the ability to become a resident or citizen, they can get more jail time, have long court programs, be barred from owning firearms and have retraining orders which would separate them from loved ones.
Petty and Grand Theft
- Petty theft: is often the most theft offense committed which is stealing property valued at less than $950. Thefts committed by lying, false information, embezzlement, scams are forms of petty theft that don’t exceed the $950 value. Petty theft is considered a misdemeanor and is penalized by a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.
- Grand theft: Grand theft is when someone steals property valued over $950 and can either be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. If charged as a misdemeanor one can be punished with up to a year in jail. Felony charges can be charged with one to three years in jail depending on the case. If convicted of grand theft then one can be put on probation and will end up a criminal record. If you’re an immigrant you’re process can be affected and face deportation.
Commercial burglary is when someone enters a store with force or the intention of stealing something inside. This type of burglary can either be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If charged as a felony one can face 16 months to three years in jail and if charged as a misdemeanor then one can face up to a year in jail.
Drug Possession Cases
Charges for drug possession cases may vary depending on the type of drug one is caught with. Penalties for simple drug possession range from fees of $100 or less or a few days in jail to paying thousands of dollars in fees and several years in prison. In the U.S. the average time in jail for a drug cases is between 30 to 40 months and some judges may require one to complete community service hours.
Hit and Run
A hit and run is considered when one is involved in an accident either with a pedestrian, another vehicle, or an object and then leaving without taking responsibility. A hit and run can be charged as a misdemeanor when property damage is involved but it can also be charged as a felony when theres an injury involved. Misdemeanor hit and runs can carry heavy penalties such as heavy fines of up to a $1,000 or up to six months in county jail. Both misdemeanor or felony convictions on a hit and run will result in the automatic suspension or revocation of your driver’s license for as long as six months.
Someone facing sexual assault charge can face felony charges, time in prison, heavy fines and mandatory sex offender registration that will affect you for life. When convicted of sexual assault one can possible get sentenced to two to four years in prison plus a possible $10,000 fine. One will also have to register as a sex offender no matter in what state you live which can cause challenges in the future finding housing and work. Convicted felons can’t vote or posses forearms and will have a criminal record which can make it difficult finding employment.